Savory and Heart-Healthy Alfredo Sauce

Homemade Alfredo Sauce

Every so often, I like to take a day off and unwind from the crazy journey we know as life. When I do, that’s typically when I see a sign that the passion I have for helping women learn to love their bodies and feed it right is what I need to be doing.

Yesterday, I was lounging around my apartment because we were having our umpteenth snow fall of the season and I tuned into Bethenny. One of her guests for the day was an AMAZING woman named Torrie who lost 148 pounds in 3 years. Torrie is amazing because she did it the right way: she healthified her favorite foods so she’d never have to deprive herself of anything.

I found this recipe a while back and it’s an incredible way I can keep one of my “guilty pleasure” – Alfredo sauce – in my culinary repertoire. Another great thing about this recipe is that it uses Greek yogurt so I get a nice dose of protein and keep my immune system in tip top shape!

Ingredients:

  • 4oz plain non-fat Greek yogurt
  • ¾ cup Silk soy milk
  • 2Tbsp Smart Balance
  • 2Tbsp flour
  • ½ tsp garlic powder
  • ¼ tsp fresh ground black pepper
  • ¼ cup Parmesan cheese

Directions:

  1. Warm a saucepan on medium heat
  2. Melt the Smart Balance
  3. Add your flour to create a paste
  4. Stir in garlic powder, black pepper, yogurt and milk
  5. Keep cooking on medium heat until the sauce thickens
  6. Add Parmesan cheese and stil until melted
  7. Pour over your favorite bowl of pasta and enjoy!
Leave a Reply

