Healthy French Toast

french toast

French toast is one of my all-time favorite breakfast recipes. I remember waking up early on Sunday mornings to help my mother make a big batch that would last two or three days. At first my mother used white bread, eggs and whole milk. Slowly, but surely, I noticed that my mom started using healthier options like whole wheat bread and skim milk.

As I moved through mt adolescence and early 20s, I had come to “accept” the fact that French toast was a “forbidden” food because of the carbohydrate content. Then I had an epiphany: carbohydrates exist because we need them! How carbohydrates affect your health revolves around your willingness to educate yourself about the different kinds of carbohydrates and your willingness to experiment with them.

Here’s a basic French toast recipe I use regularly that is under 300 calories (which includes ¼ cup of syrup!) and keeps me full for about 3 hours.

French Toast

Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs (Egg Beaters)
  • ¼ cup of soy milk (optional)
  • 2 tsp of cinnamon & 1 tsp of ginger
  • 2-4 slices of you favorite bread (I use whole wheat or multi-grain bread)

Directions:

  1. Mix egg, milk, ginger and cinnamon in a bowl
  2. Dip 1 slice of bread in mixture until covered
  3. Place bread in a pan burning on medium heat and let it brown to taste
2 thoughts on “Healthy French Toast

Leave a Reply

